what is cbd oil used for in texas

Your access to this site has been limited by the site owner

If you think you have been blocked in error, contact the owner of this site for assistance.

If you are a WordPress user with administrative privileges on this site, please enter your email address in the box below and click "Send". You will then receive an email that helps you regain access.

Block Technical Data

Block Reason: Access from your area has been temporarily limited for security reasons.
Time: Tue, 15 Mar 2022 7:05:47 GMT

About Wordfence

Wordfence is a security plugin installed on over 4 million WordPress sites. The owner of this site is using Wordfence to manage access to their site.

You can also read the documentation to learn about Wordfence's blocking tools, or visit wordfence.com to learn more about Wordfence.

Click here to learn more: Documentation

Generated by Wordfence at Tue, 15 Mar 2022 7:05:47 GMT.
Your computer's time: .

The Truth About CBD Oil in Texas from an Attorney

Marijuana in 2019 now comes in many forms whether it’s in a brownie, a live plant, wax, gummy bears, THC concentrate or even CBD oil and hemp. Some forms of cannabis are recently legal while other forms still carry severe penalties for possession in Texas.

CBD oil containing any amount of THC is considered a felony drug charge and carries serious punishment. A new Texas law was signed on June 10th legalizes hemp agriculture and retail sales of CBD oil. However, only CBD products with 0.3% of THC or less is legal. The legislature failed to realize that Texas labs cannot test for THC concentrations, only for the presence of THC.

Depending on the amount of marijuana and THC by weight in the defendant’s possession, the penalty can range from a third degree felony all the way up to a first degree felony. The highest penalty given in Texas for drug possession is life or 99 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $250,000.

How is CBD Illegal When Hemp Isn’t Marijuana?

CBD oil faces legal challenges because of the strict cannabis laws of Texas. Though most CBD oil products are made from industrial hemp, chances are the product can still carry small amounts of THC.

Much the way decaf coffee is not 100% free of caffeine, many CBD oils can contain trace amounts of the psychoactive compound THC. The problem with products like CBD oil is that they potentially fall under a portion of the law that considers the oil itself a diluent or adulterant. Under these classifications, the weight of the entire product can count as the total quantity of THC. Therefore, even if a CBD product tests at the standard 0.3% THC in a 4oz bottle, the entire 4oz of oil would be considered illegal contraband and result in felony drug charges.

See also  cbd oil for humans at guy's farm & yard

What About Retailers Carrying CBD?

Even though THC-containing products are illegal, you may see CBD on the shelves of many Texas retailers. That doesn’t make these products safe to buy, however. Arrests of Texans in possession of CBD oil that tests positive for THC do happen, and retailers selling the substance remain wary of police raids.

Many Texas CBD retailers and online stores claim protection under the 2018 Federal Farm Bill, which allows for hemp cultivation, however only certain CBD compounds have been approved to be used for prescribed medical use in Texas. According to the Tarrant County District Attorney’s Office in May 2017 the Texas Commissioner of Health added “marijuana extract” to Schedule 1 of the Controlled Substance Act, criminalizing any possession of an “extract” from a plant of the genus Cannabis, which forms the basis for the current illegal status of non-prescribed CBD oil.

Where does this leave law enforcement on the issue of CBD retail sales? Much of the risk depends on local cities and counties determining how hardline they are willing to be about CBD. The Seminole Police Department, for example, posted a statement on their Facebook page stating CBD oils are still illegal in the state of Texas. Furthermore, according to the Lubbock County District Attorney’s Office, since CBD oils on the market commonly contain small amounts of THC, until the law changes THC in any concentration is considered illegal pursuant to the Controlled Substances Act. Bottom line: Texas consumers can’t assume immunity from arrest and prosecution, even if retailers near them are carrying CBD products.

Should I Use CBD Oil In Texas?

The short answer is that you should only use CBD oil in Texas with a written prescription from an approved doctor. Any edibles or over-the-counter CBD product is a candidate for testing and prosecution.

See also  most concealable vape for cbd oil

Possession of CBD from a non-licensed retailer could result in fines and jail time. Anyone using it without a prescription does so at their own risk.

Laws regarding hemp and marijuana in Texas are being debated due to the research and development of industrial hemp-related products. As information becomes more available, more retailers and advocacy groups continue to challenge the legal standing of CBD oil in Texas.

Until a consensus is reached, however, some Texas courts will continue to prosecute any possession of CBD oil to the fullest extent of the law. Minimum sentencing rules can apply regardless of criminal history.

Have you been charged with CBD possession in Texas? The attorneys at Chappell, Lanehart & Stangl may be able to help reduce or reverse your sentence. Contact us today for a consultation on your case.

Posted on: June 27, 2019

Chappell, Lanehart & Stangl
1217 Avenue K, Lubbock, TX 79401
(806) 765-7370

Possession of THC Oil

When you have been arrested for a drug charge then you need to hire an experienced criminal defense lawyer who can provide the best legal defense for you.

Tetrahydrocannabinols (THC), Cannabinol (CBN) and Cannabidiol (CBD)

In Texas it is illegal to possess THC oil and wax and CBN oil and wax, but it is not illegal to possess CBD oil or wax so long as the THC content is .3% or less. Marijuana or Cannabis contains at least 110 types of cannabinoids, of which THC, CBN and CBD are the most abundant and most studied. The main difference is that THC has a psychoactive effect whereas CBN has only a mild psychoactive effect and CBD have no psychoactive effect. It is CBN and CBD in wax and oil form that is used to treat neuropathic or chronic pain, Chron’s Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Epilepsy and Darvet’s Syndrome, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Anxiety, and Insomnia.


Is it illegal to possess a vape pen?

On June 11, 2019, the governor signed a new farm bill that legalized the growing of hemp. The new law went into effect immediately and tracked the recent change in federal law regarding the production of hemp. Agriculture Code §121.00 defines hemp as a strain of the Cannabis Sativa plant, the marijuana plant, with a THC content of .3% or less. Crime Labs in the state of Texas are not equipped to test for the percentage of THC contained in a sample, these labs can only test for the presence of THC.

See also  cbd oil tank for hive 2.o vaporizer


Can I be charged with THC?

At a trial for possession of THC or CBN, in order to prove their case, it would be required that the State produce evidence of a THC level greater than .3%. However, it is possible that the State could use your own statements or actions to prove that the substance is THC or CBN and not CBD, so use your right to remain silent.


How much time can I get for possession of THC wax or THC oil?

Tetrahydrocannabinols (THC) other than marijuana, meaning in the form of wax or oil is a controlled substance in Texas found in Penalty Group 2 and prohibited under §481.103(a)(1). A conviction for possession of THC wax or THC oil is punishable a wide range of punishment. The amount of the fine and the amount of jail or prison time depends on the amount of the THC wax or THC oil that was found in your possession. Less than one gram of THC wax or THC oil can result in 2 years in state jail and up to a $10,000 fine. If you are found in possession of at least 4 grams but less than 400 grams of THC wax or THC oil, then you can be sent to prison for 2 to 20 years and fined up to $10,000.00.


How much time can I get for possession of CBN wax or CBN oil?

Cannabinol (CBN) other than marijuana, meaning in the form of wax or oil is a controlled substance in Texas found in Penalty Group 2-A and prohibited under§481.1031(b)(3). A conviction for possession of CBN wax or CBN oil is punishable from 1 day in the county jail up to 99 years in prison, or life in prison with the possibility of parole, and/or $1.00 up to $50,000.00 in fines. In Texas, CBN is treated the same as marijuana for purposes of punishment.