virginia approved doctors for cbd oil prescriptions

MEDICAL CANNABIS

Governor Ralph Northam recently signed a bill that would decriminalize Medical Cannabis in Virginia starting July 1, 2020. The new law takes effect July 1, 2020 and reduces penalties for offenses involving personal possession of up to one ounce of marijuana to a civil violation. A medical cannabis card provides an affirmative defense for registered patients, and caregivers. It will also give you the privilege to purchase medical grade cannabis from a dispensary that are opening in Virginia soon. Click here or call 703-589-9964 to schedule and appointment.

Common conditions treated with medical cannabis include but not limited to:

  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Spasticity disorders
  • Intractable pain, limited for the purpose of this chapter to mean pain unrelieved by standard medical treatments and medications
  • Glaucoma, either acute or chronic increased intraocular pressure unrelieved by standard treatments and medications
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • A chronic or debilitating disease that produces severe, persistent and one or more of the following:
    • Anorexia
    • Severe nausea
    • Severe Vomiting
    • Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
    • Appetite loss
    • Cramping
    • Seizures
    • Muscle Spasms
    • Spasticity

    No. The Board awarded conditional approval to up to 5 pharmaceutical processors in December 2018. It is anticipated they will become operational by December 2019. It will take approximately 4-6 months to cultivate, produce, and test the products prior to dispensing.

    • Email [email protected]
    • Fax (804) 527-4472
    • Virginia Board of Pharmacy
      Perimeter Center
      9960 Mayland Drive
      Suite 300
      Henrico, VA 23233-1463
    • Completed Certification for the use of Cannabis Oil or THC-A Oil from Alphatelemed.com
    • Proof of Patient’s Residency in Virginia
    • Proof of Patient’s Identity
    • Proof of Patient’s Age
    • The parent or legal guardian must apply for board registration for both the patient and for himself or herself as the parent or legal guardian.
    • Proof of Parent/Guardian Residency in Virginia
    • Proof of Parent/Guardian Identity
    • Proof of Parent/Guardian Age

    Alphatelemed has a fee of $179 for the video visit, evaluation, and recommendation appropriate.

    Board of pharmacy has a fee of $50 for each application submitted. The application fee is nonrefundable.

    Affirmative defense defeats or mitigates the legal consequences of the defendant’s otherwise unlawful conduct. While it will not be legal, technically, to possess the oils, a patient or their caregiver would be able to present their registration if they were stopped by law enforcement or in a court of law as their defense for possession of the oil.

    Yes. 18.2-250.1(C) states, “In any prosecution under this section involving marijuana in the form of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil as those terms are defined in § 54.1-3408.3, it shall be an affirmative defense that the individual possessed such oil pursuant to a valid written certification issued by a practitioner in the course of his professional practice pursuant to § 54.1-3408.3 for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of (i) the individual’s diagnosed condition or disease or (ii) if such individual is the parent or legal guardian of a minor or of an incapacitated adult as defined in § 18.2-369, such minor’s or incapacitated adult’s diagnosed condition or disease. If the individual files the valid written certification with the court at least 10 days prior to trial and causes a copy of such written certification to be delivered to the attorney for the Commonwealth, such written certification shall be prima facie evidence that such oil was possessed pursuant to a valid written certification.”

    No, marijuana possession remains illegal in Virginia. The law currently provides for an affirmative defense for a patient, parent/legal guardian to possess cannabidiol (CBD) oil or THC-A oil as defined in §54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia who has been issued a valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered practitioner and who maintains a current registration with the Board of Pharmacy. Before a practitioner can issue or continue issuing written certifications, he or she must now register with the Board of Pharmacy. A patient/parent/guardian must have a written certification issued to them prior to applying for registration with the Board of Pharmacy and possessing the oils.

    Governor Ralph Northam recently signed a bill that would decriminalize Medical Cannabis in Virginia starting July 1, 2020. The new law takes effect July 1, 2020 and reduces penalties for offenses involving personal possession of up to one ounce of marijuana to a civil violation. A medical cannabis card provides an affirmative defense for registered patients, and caregivers. It will also give you the privilege to purchase medical grade cannabis from a dispensary that are opening in Virginia soon. Click here or call 703-589-9964 to schedule and appointment.

    Yes, our providers are registered and may issue the required written certification after a in-person evaluation if appropriate.

    There is a fee of $149 for the evaluation (not covered by medical insurance).

    Please call 703-589-9964 for more information or to make an in-person appointment.

    Virginia Medical Marijuana
    Card Online

    Join over 100,000 patients who have chosen Green Health Docs as their medical cannabis doctors. We have a 99% approval rate and offer a 100% money back guarantee!

    Appointment – Virginia

    *By signing up for texts, you are agreeing to receive promotional messages from Green Health Docs and our dispensary partners at the number provided. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply. Message frequency varies. Reply HELP for help or STOP to cancel at any time.

    Doctor Owned And Operated
    Our Agents are Patients Too
    Available 7 Days A Week
    Get Approved In Minutes

    How to Get a Virginia Medical Marijuana Card

    Book an Appointment

    Schedule by filling out the form above or call/text us at 240-356-1000 to set up your consultation over the phone. We offer same-day appointments, so you can be seen by our doctor within 15 minutes of scheduling!

    Talk to a Doctor

    Our doctor will determine whether you qualify for a medical card after a quick 10-15 minute evaluation.

    Get Your Card

    If approved, you’ll receive your written certification the same day which you can then use to apply online with the state for your card.

    How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Virginia

    We are currently only offering telemedicine evaluations in Virginia . Telemedicine means you can have an online video call with our doctor using a computer, smartphone or tablet. To get started, you can schedule online now.

    You can also call our support team at 240-356-1000 and we will be happy to set up an appointment for you. We’ll send you a link via email that you can use to access our virtual waiting room at your scheduled appointment time. From here our doctor will start the video call and evaluate you to determine whether you qualify for a medical marijuana card in Virginia. It’s that easy!

    Virginia Medical Card Requirements

    Age & Residency Requirements

    You must be a Virginia resident. There is no age requirement, however patients under the age of 18 will need a parent or guardian to apply as their registered agent (caregiver).

    Qualifying Conditions For Medical Card In Virginia

    Any condition can qualify if a doctor determines that medical marijuana could be beneficial. Some of the more common conditions that Virginia patients have been getting their medical card for include anxiety, depression, chronic pain, PTSD, and cancer.

    Medical Documentation

    No medical documentation is required. Patients are encouraged to provide proof of a chronic medical condition such as medical records, pill bottles, office visit summaries, or a note from a doctor but it is not needed in order to get approved.

    Get Evaluated

    Our licensed marijuana doctor will evaluate you based on your current health condition, medical history, and any documentation you are able to provide as proof. If approved, we will then issue the written certification form needed to apply with the state as a patient within 24 hours.

    Virginia Medical Marijuana Card Appointment

    Getting your Medical Marijuna Card is now easier than ever with Green Health Docs’ convenient online appointments. Click the link below to schedule your Telemedicine Medical Marijuana Card appointment.

    Appointment – Virginia

    *By signing up for texts, you are agreeing to receive promotional messages from Green Health Docs and our dispensary partners at the number provided. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message and data rates may apply. Message frequency varies. Reply HELP for help or STOP to cancel at any time.

    Have Questions About Virginia Medical Cannabis?

    Virginia Medical Marijuana Certification Process

    The certification process in Virginia is similar to many other medical states. Patients will need to obtain a written certification from a licensed medical marijuana doctor first in order to apply with the state for a medical card.

    Schedule an appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor.
    Speak with the doctor to find out if you qualify.
    Obtain your written certification and apply with the state.
    Get your electronic medical marijuana ID card and start purchasing at dispensaries!
    Find a Registered Medical Marijuana Doctor In Virginia

    The first step in getting your Virginia medical marijuana card is to be evaluated and certified by a state-licensed medical cannabis doctor.

    It can sometimes be difficult for patients to find a doctor who will certify them. We currently offer online telemedicine visits that allow you to be seen by a medical cannabis doctor from the comfort and security of home, making the search for a physician easy for you.

    If you believe that you have one of the qualifying medical conditions and have at least one type of proof, then you will most likely qualify. Our doctor can evaluate you, review any medical documentation you are able to provide, and issue your certification so that you can apply for your card.

    Register with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy

    The next step after being certified by a doctor is to register and apply online with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. In order to register, patients will need to have: – a signed Written Certification Form – a government-issued identification card (such as a driver’s license or passport) – Proof of Virginia residency. If you’re having trouble submitting your application to the state or any part of the registration process, we recommend contacting the state directly for support at 804-367-4444.

    Is Virginia A Medical Marijuana State?

    Virginia is a medical marijuana state where patients can obtain cannabis to treat the symptoms of their illnesses. To access medical marijuana in Virginia, patients need written certification from a physician registered with the Board of Pharmacy. After getting the recommendation, qualifying patients should apply online for the Virginia medical marijuana card through the Initial Applications site.

    The Virginia Board of Pharmacy functions as the medical marijuana program by facilitating patient access to medicinal cannabis. The purpose of this page is to equip you with the necessary information you need to be a cannabis patient through the Virginia Medical Marijuana Program. When you are ready, go ahead and book an online appointment with a medical marijuana doctor in VA near you to get your written certification in minutes.

    Does Virginia have a medical marijuana program?

    Unlike most states that have legalized medical marijuana, Virginia does not have a dedicated medical marijuana program. Instead, the Virginia Department of Health Professions, through the Board of Pharmacy, regulates medical marijuana in the state. Some of the functions include enabling patient access to medicinal cannabis, approving practitioners to certify patients, and regulating marijuana processors; essentially, the roles of a medical marijuana program.

    As mentioned earlier, patients must obtain a medical marijuana card to obtain cannabis in Virginia. And the process includes getting a recommendation from an MMJ doctor and registering as a patient with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. Eventually, patients that complete their registration get a Virginia medical card.

    Also, there are no qualifying conditions for a medical card in Virginia. So, it is up to your MMJ doctor to determine whether you could benefit from cannabis treatment. In most cases, cannabis doctors will consider cannabis treatment if you are suffering from:

    • A chronic medical condition whose treatment could lead to physical or psychological dependence.
    • Or a chronic medical condition that causes severe, debilitating psychiatric disorders.

    To get an idea of what medical conditions may qualify you for medical cannabis in Virginia, review our Virginia Medical Card Requirements Page.

    How to register for the Virginia medical marijuana state program

    Registering as a patient with the Virginia medical marijuana state program is an easy process. To begin, patients must book an appointment with a registered Virginia medical marijuana doctor and get certified. Next, certified patients should create an account with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy Web Portal (DHP Virginia). After creating an account, patients need to complete their application on the portal then scan and email the required documents to the Board of Pharmacy.

    All patients should keep in mind the following basic Virginia medical card requirements:

    • Only residents of Virginia qualify for the state medical marijuana program.
    • Only Board-registered medical marijuana doctors in VA can provide valid written marijuana recommendations.
    • The minimum age requirement for medical marijuana is eighteen (18) years old.
    • Minor patients may qualify if their parent or legal guardian applies on their behalf.

    Patients must pay a non-refundable $50 application fee, and parents or legal guardians applying for minor patients must pay a $25 fee.

    Which documents do I need to register for the Virginia medical marijuana state program?

    When applying for the Virginia medical marijuana card, you must scan and email the following documentation to the Board of Pharmacy to complete your application:

    1. Proof of identity. For example:
      • Virginia Identification card
      • U.S. passport
      • Virginia driver’s license
    2. Proof of residency. For instance:
      • Virginia driver’s license
      • Virginia identification card
      • Tax receipt
    3. Proof of age. For example:
      • Birth certification
      • VA identification card
      • VA driver’s license
    4. A copy of a written certification issued by a registered medical marijuana doctor in Virginia.

    When did Virginia become a medical marijuana state?

    Virginia’s legislative history with medical marijuana started back in 1979 with the Code of Virginia. The Code protected patients with a valid cannabis prescription from a doctor to treat glaucoma or the side effects of chemotherapy. Nowadays, doctors can’t prescribe medical marijuana, instead, they can recommend it to their patients. You can read more about the difference between a marijuana prescription and a recommendation, and how to get one.

    Fast forward to 2018 with the passing of HB 1251. This law allowed practitioners to issue written certifications for the use of Cannabidiol (CBD) oil or THC-A oil for the treatment or to ease symptoms of any condition the practitioner determined would benefit from such use. In 2019, SB 1557 expanded further on the Code of Virginia. As a result, nurse practitioners and physician assistants could now also issue written certifications for patients to use cannabis extracts. Additionally, this legislation specified that each dose could contain a maximum of 10 milligrams of THC.

    Contact the Virginia Board of Pharmacy Marijuana Program

    State Jurisdiction: (DHP Virginia) Virginia Department of Health Professions – Board of Pharmacy

    Address:
    Virginia Board of Pharmacy, Perimeter Center
    9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
    Henrico, VA 23233

    Fax: (804) 527-4472

    Where to Buy Cannabis Products: VA Dispensary Locations

    You can buy medical cannabis from any dispensary in Virginia approved to operate by the Board of Pharmacy as soon as you get your medical marijuana card. There are currently five operational Virginia medical marijuana dispensaries.

    Also, when buying medicinal cannabis from dispensaries in VA, patients must provide a valid Virginia medical marijuana card and government-issued identification.

    Virginia medical dispensaries:

    1. gLeaf Medical in Richmond, VA.
    2. BEYOND / HELLO Manassas Cannabis Dispensary in Bristow, VA.
    3. Dharma Pharmaceuticals Cannabis Dispensary in Washington County, VA.
    4. Columbia Care Portsmouth Dispensary in Portsmouth, VA.

    Virginia Medical Marijuana State Rules

    Patients with a VA medical marijuana card have the added benefit of legal protection when in possession of medical marijuana besides enjoying the healing properties of the cannabis they can access. Still, patients may find their registration to the Virginia medical marijuana program revoked if they break any of the Virginia marijuana laws. So what are patients not allowed?

    • The Board of Pharmacy may revoke a patient’s registration if a committee establishes evidence that the patient provided incorrect or misleading information during the registration process.
    • Patients, parents, or legal guardians CANNOT let another person use their registration. Moreover, tampering or modifying the registration may also lead to the cancellation of the VA medical marijuana card.
    • Patients CANNOT acquire more than a 90 day supply of medical cannabis oil within 90 days.
    • The Board of Pharmacy may suspend a patient’s, parent’s, or legal guardian’s VA medical card if they fail to report its theft, loss, or damage within five days of becoming aware of the incident.

    Common Questions About the Virginia Medical Marijuana State Program

    Below are the answers to common questions patients have concerning the Virginia Medical Marijuana State Program.

    My primary care physician is not registered. Can I still get an MMJ recommendation from them?

    No. Only practitioners of medicine or osteopathy and physician assistants licensed with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy can certify patients for medical marijuana. Also, nurse practitioners licensed with the Board of Medicine and Board of Nursing can recommend medicinal cannabis.

    Is it easy to get a medical card in Virginia?

    With QuickMedCards it’s easier than ever to find a licensed cannabis doctor to certify you for medical marijuana in Virginia. We can help you connect with a qualified medical marijuana doctor in Virginia to certify you for medical cannabis treatment. All you have to do is fill out the information sheet and create your account with QuickMedCards. Then, you pick an appropriate time to have a marijuana evaluation through a video call.

    Where can I get my medical card in Virginia?

    You can get your Virginia medical card from the Virginia Medical Marijuana Program. After you have been certified by one of our doctors you’ll need to register as a patient with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy to get your medical marijuana card.

    How long does my Virginia medical marijuana registration card last?

    The Virginia medical marijuana card is valid for one year from the date of issue. Similarly, the written certification from your medical marijuana doctor also lasts a year. Patients must renew their VA medical card and marijuana certification annually to keep buying medical cannabis.

    Does Virginia sell medical marijuana?

    The following dispensaries sell medical marijuana in Virginia: Rise dispensaries based in Salem, Beyond/Hello in Manassas, gLeaf Medical Cannabis in Richmond, Columbia Care in Portsmouth, and Dharma Pharmaceuticals, Abingdon. Whereas recreational cannabis is legal in Virginia, sales do not begin until 2024.

    What types of cannabis products will Virginia be allowing?

    Patients can buy tinctures, oils, creams, gels, pills, patches, capsules, sprays, suppositories, extracts, and inhalation products. Additionally, botanical (flower) cannabis will be available from September 2021. Patients will be limited to four ounces of cannabis flower every thirty days.

    How much is medical marijuana in VA?

    Below are the starting prices for different forms of medical marijuana in Virginia:
    • 0.5g vape cartridge for $55
    • 90-100mg (pack of 10) cannabis ingestible at $50
    • 30ml tinctures for $90
    • 75g jar of marijuana topicals for $28
    • 100mg (pack of 10) suppositories at $55
    • 1g inhale refill syringes from $100
    • 1g cannabis extracts for $90
    • Marijuana concentrates (1g) at $75

    When will botanical cannabis products be available?

    Botanical or flower cannabis should be available in Virginia from September 2021. However, this is dependent on proper regulations being in place and the availability of the product.

    How much botanical cannabis can be dispensed to a registered patient?

    Patients can buy at most 4 ounces of cannabis flower every 30 days. It is worth noting that the amount of botanical cannabis (flower) patients get will count on the 90-day supply of medical cannabis products they can buy.

    Once I am registered in Virginia as a patient, can I purchase cannabis in other states?

    You can use your Virginia medical card to buy and use medical cannabis in some states. But, the state must have reciprocity laws that accept the Virginia med card. For instance, you can use your VA MMJ card to buy and possess medical cannabis in Hawaii and Oklahoma. However, to do so, you must use your VA medical card to register for a temporary medical card in the state you’re visiting.

    Can you own a gun and have a medical card in Virginia?

    No. When buying guns, potential customers must declare whether they use or are addicted to a controlled substance. Marijuana is still a schedule I controlled substance according to federal law. Therefore, you cannot own or buy a gun if you have a medical marijuana card in Virginia.

    See also  cbd oil for vape starter kit